Game of the Week #4 – To the Moon

There is only one game that has ever made me cry. Only one. And that game is To the Moon. To the Moon, although a terrible game by a mechanics standpoint, more than makes up for its shortcomings in the story department. This is why you should play it.

to the moon album art

First things first, lets get the bad out of the way before we talk about the awesome stuff about this game. It sucks. As a game, there is no reason why you would ever want to play it. In nearly all departments, it falls short. The controls are mediocre, the art is nothing special, it’s really hard to discern which tiles you can move on, etc. If you do want to pick this game up, do NOT come in expecting it to be fun. Because it’s not.

Also to note is that it’s very short, only about 2 and a half hours long. But that may not be a bad thing, depending on how you like your games. Length isn’t usually an issue for me anyway.

That being said, God DAMN this is an awesome game. Seriously. It’s amazing. As I mentioned in the introduction, the story is what makes this game. Everything else is really just a mask for the real star of the show, the story. The synopsis as is follows:

You play as a scientist who works at a company that fulfills wishes of those on their deathbeds by re-writing their memories. You are assigned to an elderly man, Johnny, who has always wanted to go to the moon. You progress backwards through his memories in order to change them and have him become an astronaut, leaving him to die happy. And that’s about as much as I can say without spoiling the entire story, and you do not want me to do that.

You know, looking back in retrospective, this game was really more of an interactive novel, like Kawata Shoujo (hint hint wink wink). You kinda just walk around set pieces, listening into conversations and clicking on things (Maybe it’s pressing E, it’s been a while). The story and Johnny’s life comes together like a puzzle, one piece at a time, until you uncover the sad and happy mural that is his life. And the ending comes, and…

BWAAAAAHHHH! Or at least, that’s what I did. I cried in front of my mother sitting besides me. It was, to say the least, embarrassing. I think it was the combination of the climax of the story being so touching and the great music that triggered something in me, and I cried throughout the credits. Mind you, this was the first time this had ever happened. I never cry during games, but this one made me. And, chances are, you will too.

So, in summary, if you love games for their stories, pick it up now. If you hate games that depend on stories, wait till it goes on sale, then buy it. You will almost certainly cry, but do not expect this game to be a action-packed super fun game. But trust me, it’s worth it.

Have fun! Or rather, enjoy the awesome story!

Score:

81 quarks/ 49 ideas

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by connorbros on February 1, 2013 - 8:02 am

    You have piqued my interest! I just finished 999 and Zero Escape which have me in a bit of a visual novel mode. Perhaps I will check it out.

    • #2 by SuperSN on February 1, 2013 - 10:22 am

      Oh MAN I love 999. One of the best, no, the best story I have ever experienced in a video game. That being said, expect something completely different in To the Moon. But you’ll probably like it anyway.

      • #3 by connorbros on February 1, 2013 - 10:32 am

        I KNOW! SO GOOD! And your post didn’t really leave me expecting a similar game haha, just a vaguely overlapping genre.

What do you think about this?

